Skip to content

Former union ministers and chief ministers defeated by big margin in Myanmar 2020 general elections

By Mizzima Wed, November 11,  2020

YANGON – In this 2020 general election, 35 former union ministers and chief ministers who served in Senior Gen. Than Shwe and President Thein Sein’s governments contested as candidates.

According to a news report covered by ‘Myanmar Now’ 19 former union ministers, 10 former union deputy ministers and six chief ministers contested in these general elections. Out of these total 35 former union ministers, deputy union ministers and chief ministers, 34 contested as candidates of Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and another one founded National Politics Development Party himself and contested from this party. Out of 34 USDP candidates, six are former chief ministers of States and Regions. Three contested in Regions and other three contested in States.

Though the Union Election Commission (UEC) has not released official results, according to the results compiled by Mizzima, only one USDP candidate won over his nearest contender NLD candidate.


Soiurce: Mizzima, Myanmar  Wed,  November 11,  2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: